Irish With A Tan

Your Online Cup of Tea

I’m Running Away

13709721_1805162589624105_1914661729_o.jpg
I’m running away, Lord I’m running away:
I’m running away, with headphones on,
I’m running away,
Yes what a terrible song,
But anything is better than the silence,
I’m running away.
 
I’m running away Lord, I’m running away:
I’m running away, with many books,
For knowing much of you,
I had mistook,
as a relationship,
the thoughts to which I did relate.
But anything is better than the silence,
I’m running away.
 
I’m running away Lord, I’m running away:
I’m running away, with many hours spent on looks,
All these selfies that I took,
Wasted time, yes I know.
But anything is better than the silence,
I’m running away.
 
I’m running away Lord, I’m running away:
I’m running away, to yesterday,
Dwelling on the past,
The pains I can’t get over,
And the joys that didn’t last,
I’m running to tomorrow,
Because I can’t take now,
Even though my fears they dwell there,
But anything is better than the silence,
I’m running away.
 
I’m running away, Lord I’m running away:
I’m running away, inside my head,
Lost in thoughts that strike my heart,
Stirring nightmares, following me to bed.
So I’ll run away then, to my phone,
And pretend that I am not alone.
Where are you Lord, I long to know?
I want your presence… but you’ll be there.
Aware of your all-knowing stare,
It’s not indifference that brings me scare,
But such a comprehensive care,
For all my being,
Before you,
Bare.
And there,
I’m left, no words, no sound,
But yours alone, what will you say?
Maybe I should stay on my phone,
Behind my profile all alone,
The fig-leaf covering that I’ve sown,
But anything is better than the silence,
I’m running away.
Half your land, give me my share dear Father.
Lord I’m running away.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 16, 2016 by in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
